Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 21st, 2011

During our exploration of the United Kingdom, two of my friends and I rode the train to Wales for a day in Cardiff. All three of us are huge Doctor Who fans so a trip to Cardiff was going to be a part of the trip since we started planning the whole thing. We walked around Cardiff Bay and nerded-out on a self-made walking tour of filming locations thanks so a map and a handheld GPS. Sometimes technology is awesome.

I really think that out of all the places we went on that vacation Cardiff was my favorite. Don’t get me wrong, London is amazing and Edinburgh was beautiful, but the homeyness of Cardiff made it my favorite. It had everything you could want and the people we met were so nice. I will definitely be back to spend more time in Wales someday.

Here’s my favorite photos from our day in Cardiff. I’m only including a couple so I don’t completely bore the non-nerds out there with my pictures from the Doctor Who exhibit and locations.

This is the water tower on Ronald Dahl Plass. It marked the home of Torchwood 3 in the first three seasons of the show. Nerdy, but also really simplistic and beautiful.

Here is the Wales Millennium Center on the Plass. The phrase on the outside says “In these stones horizons sing” in English and Welsh.

Okay, I lied. There will be one purely nerdy photo. This next one is The Shrine that fans created in response to the killing off of a character from Torchwood, the fabulous Ianto Jones. I was one of the fans upset by that event so I couldn’t come to Cardiff and not see it. This is how The Shrine looked on May 15, 2010.

That’s it for now. Until next time,

Have fun!

Read Full Post »